About this blog Subscribe to this blog
« Prev: Nonfiction Monday: Earth Day Picture Book Thursday: Spring Has Sprung: Next»

New Review Tuesday: The Summer I Turned Pretty

You may or may not be already thinking about summer reading, but we're getting the ball rolling at Scholastic. The Scholastic Summer Challenge is around the corner, and the upcoming issue of Instructor magazine will feature a bevy of summer reading tips and book recommendations.

41t8+r2zP3L._SL500_AA240_ Why not start your list now? For kids in seventh grade and up, I'd definitely recommend Jenny Han's The Summer I Turned Pretty. The dreamy cover and promise of summer romance is sure to intrigue tweens and teens, but this moving novel has way more substance than your average beach read. Of course, I wouldn't expect less from Han, whose debut novel Shug blew me away in its depiction of changing friendships and first love. From Shug's opening pages I knew that Han just *gets it,* and the same is true in The Summer I Turned Pretty.

Fifteen-year-old Belly and her family are, like always, spending the summer with family friend Susannah and her two sons, Conrad and Jeremiah. But Belly doesn't quite realize that this summer will be different—she finally has male attention (from everyone but Conrad, the one she has her eye on, of course). And there's drama going on behind the scenes, too, as Susannah's family starts to unravel. Meanwhile Belly can't help feel like anything is possible–an emotion your summer readers are bound to understand.

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will find another favorite author in Jenny Han. Any idea what books you'll be recommending this summer? Share in the comments!

Comments

Comments are closed. Please see Classroom Solutions, our new blog for the 2009-2010 school year. And stay tuned for Teaching Matters with Angela Bunyi and Beth Newingham.

Recent Posts

Categories

Quick Links:

Recommended Sites:

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in Kid Lit Kit are strictly those of the author and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Scholastic, Inc.